Canada has spoken.
Our consultations have resulted in unified agreement that moving forward with a Canadian Autism Partnership is essential if we are to collectively improve better outcomes for individuals and families living with autism.

We are better together. 

This statement, so simple a premise, embodies the crux of the Canadian Autism Partnership model. 

All of our provinces and territories are working hard to find solutions, but operate in isolation from their peers across the county. As a result, the services and resources are inconsistent, and many Autistic individuals – along with their families and caregivers – are facing significant challenges and often insurmountable barriers.

The Canadian Autism Partnership Project, led by a Working Group of experts representing the diverse sectors of the nation’s Autism community, as well as seven dynamic Autistic self-advocates from across Canada, consulted with 5,000 Canadians from coast to coast to coast. When asked for input in the development of a business plan for a Canadian Autism Partnership model, the response was overwhelming - with one constant sentiment emerging: Our community needs coordinated leadership and collaborative partnerships if we are to sustain our hope.

In every corner of this country, there was no shortage of hope. A hope that is so passionately expressed in the video of our Project’s self-advocates expressing their heartfelt desires for the establishment of a Canadian Autism Partnership.

The Executive Summary for CAP’s business plan, “Better Together: A Canadian Autism Partnership” is now available. Read the report...

In November 2016, Canada’s Minister of Health, Jane Philpott, was presented with a business plan for a partnership platform that would effectively bring together provincial and territorial governments, leaders in the Autism community, researchers, health providers and most importantly, Autistic individuals along with their families and caregivers,  in order to address the complex issues pertaining to Autism. 

On this site you’ll find details on the proposed Canadian Autism Partnership Model as well as information about our consultations. 

Woven through all of these materials you’ll find the hope we speak of. Hope that has been sustained by a belief that we can, and must, do better, together. 


Objectives

On behalf of all Canadians with autism, their families, friends and the professionals who support them, we will: - Prepare a comprehensive plan for the development of a Canadian Autism Partnership in Canada. Read more ...

bullet

Artwork/Imagery

The images you see on these web pages are the work of men and women across Canada who are living with autism. We thank them for sharing their artistic vision with us. Learn more about these artists ...

bullet

Community Engagement

Individuals and organizations from all ten provinces and three territories have provided valuable input to the project. Read more ...

bullet

Le Canada a parlé
Nos consultations nous ont permis de conclure qu’il était essentiel, si nous voulons améliorer le sort des personnes ayant un TSA et de leur famille, de mener à bien le Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme.

L’union fait la force. 

Ce proverbe, un concept si simple, est le point focal du modèle de Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme. 

Partout au Canada, les provinces et territoires travaillent d’arrache pied pour trouver des solutions aux enjeux complexes relatifs à l’autisme, mais ils le font actuellement chacun de leur côté, en silo. Ce faisant, les ressources et services sont inégaux, et les personnes autistes, tout comme leurs proches et soignants, doivent faire face à des obstacles importants, voire insurmontables

Le Projet de partenariat canadien pour l’autisme, dirigé par un Groupe de travail constitué d’experts des différents secteurs de la communauté de l’autisme au Canada, en collaboration avec sept personnes autistes militantes et dévouées de partout au pays, a consulté près de 5000 Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre. Les opinions et la rétroaction qu’ils ont données au sujet du plan d’affaires et du modèle du Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme pointent manifestement vers un même sentiment : la communauté de l’autisme a grandement besoin de partenariats et d’un leadership coordonnés si elle veut entretenir son espoir de changer les choses.

C’est vrai, on retrouve de l’espoir aux quatre coins du pays, comme en témoigne la vidéo des membres autistes de notre Projet, qui expriment avec passion leur désir d’établir un Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme.

Le résumé du plan d’affaires du PCA, L’union fait la force : le cas du Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme, est maintenant disponible en ligne. Lire la suite...

En novembre 2016, la ministre de la Santé du Canada, Jane Philpott, a reçu un plan d’affaires présentant une plateforme de partenariat qui réunirait les différents gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les acteurs principaux de la communauté de l’autisme, les chercheurs, les prestataires de soins et, de façon plus importante, les personnes autistes et leurs proches et soignants, dans leurs efforts pour résoudre les enjeux complexes relatifs à l’autisme.

Sur ce site web, vous trouverez de l’information sur le modèle du Partenariat canadien pour l’autisme que nous avons proposé, ainsi que sur le processus de consultation que nous avons récemment mis en branle.

Au cœur de ces documents, vous retrouvez sans doute l’espoir de la communauté de l’autisme dont nous vous parlons. Cet espoir, il survit grâce à la conviction que les choses peuvent — et doivent — changer pour le mieux.


Objectifs

Au nom de toutes les Canadiennes et de tous les Canadiens vivant avec l’autisme, leurs familles, leurs amis et les professionnels qui les soutiennent, nous : - élaborerons un plan global pour le développement d’un partenariat canadien en matière d’autisme. Lire la suite...

bullet

Illustrations

Les images que vous voyez sur ces pages Web ont été créées par des hommes et des femmes à travers le Canada qui vivent avec l’autisme. Nous les remercions de partager leur vision artistique avec nous.  En apprendre plus sur ces artistes….

bullet

Votre opinion

Il y a eu, dans la dernière décennie, une forte augmentation de la prévalence de l’autisme. Cette hausse s’est cependant accompagné d’une plus grande connaissance et acceptation des personnes ayant un trouble du spectre de l’autisme. Lire la suite...

bullet